Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora


locke

“Some day, Locke Lamora,” he said, “some day, you’re going to fuck up so magnificently, so ambitiously, so overwhelmingly that the sky will light up and the moons will spin and the gods themselves will shit comets with glee. And I just hope I’m still around to see it.”
“Oh please,” said Locke. “It’ll never happen.”

This review should probably come with a warning label….so here it is…

WARNING: Due to the absolute AWESOMENESS of this book, the following review will be full of gushing, fan-girling, and plenty of excited exclamations!

Seriously though people. Words cannot even begin to describe the pure MAGNIFICENCE of this book!! It’s AMAZING!! Fans of The Name of the Wind and Game of Thrones should pay attention, because this just might be your next favourite book!!

The Lies of Locke Lamora is set on the island of Camorr, a city-state brimming with nobles and thieves. Orphaned at a young age, Locke Lamora finds himself under the tutelage of the infamous Father Chains, a con-arstist of extraordinary talent who runs a group of thieves known as the Gentleman Bastards. Through the guidance of Father Chains, Locke thrives, and eventually takes over the leadership of his crew.

Now known as the “Thorn of Camorr,” Locke spends his days planning and executing elaborate cons, and robbing the gentry from right under their very noses. The sudden appearance of a villain called The Grey King, however, poses a threat not only to Locke’s latest con, but everything that he holds dear. The only solution: Locke must beat the Grey King at his own game, or die trying.The best way to describe this book? Think Ocean’s Eleven meets Robin Hood! If there is one thing I love it’s a good con story, and The Lies of Locke Lamora was full of them! Not only was the book ADDICTING and fast-paced, it also had me constantly gasping in surprise. Let’s just say that the number of plot-twists in this book had me picking up my jaw from the floor more than once!

Besides the PHENOMENAL plot-line, one of the things I enjoyed most about The Lies of Locke Lamora were the FANTASTIC characters! Locke was cunning, witty, and absolutely BRILLIANT! For some reason, I kept picturing him as Wesley from The Princess Bride, which just endeared him to me even more. I also fell in love with Locke’s bawdy crew of Gentleman Thieves, especially Jean. With his strength, intellect, and determination, it’s obvious why Jean is Locke’s right hand man. Together, the two are a lethal team that I LOVED cheering for from the sidelines.

Despite my absolute ADORATION for The Lies of Locke Lamora, that doesn’t mean it isn’t without it’s issues. The one thing I had trouble with in this book was trying to understand the political hierarchy and geography of Locke’s world. After a quick tweet to Scott Lynch my confusion over politics was cleared up, but the lack of any map in my edition had me completely puzzled about the topography of Camorr and the Seven Marrows. I mean what kind of Fantasy novel doesn’t have a map?!

Even with my confusion, however, The Lies of Locke Lamora had me tearing through the pages to find out what would happen next. I laughed, I cried, I cringed in terror for the characters, I just could not get enough of this story! I’m already planning my next trip to the book store so that I can buy the next book in this series, Red Seas Under Red Skies! If you love Fantasy, Adventure, and even a bit of Mystery, then this is one book that you should definitely pick up this year! I promise you won’t regret it!

Rating: 5 Stars!!!! 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora

  1. Wow! This is a spectacular review! Definitely gushing is the right word to use … I totally wanna run to the library and get a copy now! 😀 Fabulous Natalie!!

  2. Pingback: Best Books of 2014! | Browsing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s